What V-Day means to me…

It’s almost that time V-Day!  I remember when V-day used to be a big deal to me, with flowers, balloons, dinner, movie, maybe even spending the night at a hotel, now not so much.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my husband very much, and I would love to go out anywhere with him, and no kids.  However, people aren’t exactly jumping up and down to watch my three kids. Can’t blame them why would they want to when they could be spending V-day with their loved ones.  Oh how I miss the days of writing up valentines and giving them to classmates, waiting for the special one from that special someone.  Oh wait I still fill out valentines they just aren’t from me, they are from my kids.  It’s just not the same.  I like making all of the sweet treats and doing a little decorating. But since the birth of my first son, who was born February 14, 2001, well it has a different meaning for us.  It’s Alec’s 10th birthday – Double Digits!  So instead of  it being a romantic time it is more of a hectic crazy time.  Not only are we planning birthday parties, yes I said parties (one for his classmates and one for our huge family).  I also am room mother for his class this year and Monday is Valentine’s Party Day.  Rather than give his sweet, pretty, young fourth grade teacher a heart attack and bring in two sweet treats!  I will bring the V-Day Treats on Monday and his Birthday Treats in on Tuesday.  Which means an entire weekend of baking and making.  (See yesterdays post!)  Now this is the part I am suppose to enjoy!  However all I can think about is how much I have to do. Birthday, and room mother, Tupperware Parties, Meeting my Sales Goal, Becoming Manager!  Why did I set all of these goals for February?  Well I do usually work well under pressure.  Ok breathe…I will try to talk Alec into having his class party in March, better weather and more time to breathe.  My mother offered to have pizza and cake at her house for the family I will take her up on that.  I will do my Tupperware work when I can, that’s why I love Tupperware in the first place, I can do things on my schedule, and still become Manager.  Whoo hoo, I might actually get something accomplished!  Well maybe not, I have about 30 Homemade Chocolate Dipped Sweet Treat orders to fill before Valentines Day!  I have to admit I really didn’t foresee that.  Not that I’m complaining!  I am more than happy to have the business and they are going to be soooo cute when finished.  Who wouldn’t loved homemade chocolates and a Tupperware E-gift card?  For V-Day I am going to make Pepper-Crusted Filet Mignon, with steamed broccoli, and roasted garlic mashed potato’s. (in my new Tupperware Smart Steamer)  Still haven’t decided on desert.  They say the way to a mans heart is through his stomach, my husband would agree.  I guess Valentines Day means spending the day with loved ones.  Although we may not be at a fancy restaurant, or a 5 star hotel, we will all be together sharing a wonderful meal. I may not get those diamond earnings some of my friends will be getting, I will have something better, homemade gifts! I will hang them on my refrigerator with pride.  The true meaning of Valentines day is Love and I will be with the 4 people and one dog who I love the most.  I’m grateful for that, I’m give thanks for the stress of my February, for without it I would not know true love.  I’m so very lucky to have 4 Valentines, that have shown me what unconditional love is all about.  


 

var skin = {};skin[‘HEIGHT’] = ’21’;skin[‘BUTTON_STYLE’] = ‘compact’;skin[‘BUTTON_TEXT’] = ‘Recommend it!’;skin[‘BUTTON_ICON’] = ‘heart’;google.friendconnect.container.setParentUrl(‘/’ /* location of rpc_relay.html and canvas.html */);google.friendconnect.container.renderOpenSocialGadget( { id: ‘div-4209434485279206638′, url:’http://www.google.com/friendconnect/gadgets/recommended_pages.xml’, height: 21, site: ‘16838970061143551239’, ‘view-params’:{“pageUrl”:location.href,”pageTitle”:(document.title ? document.title : location.href),”docId”:”recommendedPages”} }, skin);

Leave a Reply

