Challenge Day 3-My Favorite TV Show-Law & Order

This one took a lot of thought as I do enjoy my programs.  But my all time, favorite show, for some time now (show started when I was 12 WOW I’m old)  is Law & Order.  Law & Order is an American police legal drama television series, created by Dick Wolf and part of the Law & Order franchise. It aired on NBC, and in syndication on various cable networks. Law & Order premiered on September 13, 1990, and completed its 20th and final season on May 24, 2010. At the time of its cancellation, Law & Order was the longest-running crime drama on American prime-time television, and tied for longest running American drama series of all time with Gunsmoke; both are the second longest-running scripted series with ongoing characters after The Simpsons.

I can, have, and will continue to watch marathons of Law & Order and not blink an eye.  I feel like I am a part of the show, either taking my role as a over zealous D.A. or at times taking the role of a low life defense attorney.  (Depending on the case or the guest star of the week)  At times I think, I should’ve gone to law school.  (But than am brought back down by the fact that my brother is actually in Law School, and the amount of work, studying, and interning is just far to much for me.)  If there were a job opening for a guest spot on the jury, sign me up, I’m in!  What I like most about Law & Order is that you never know when the writers are going to throw you for a loop.  I’m always on the edge of my seat/bed waiting to see what will happen next.

“In the criminal justice system, the people are represented by two separate yet equally important groups: the police who investigate crime and the district attorneys who prosecute the offenders. These are their stories.”

I Love it, there is something about the narration (spoken by Steven Zimkilton) that gives me the chills.  So simple, yet exhilarating.  Yes I said exhilarating!

Set and filmed in New York City, the series follows a two-part approach: in the first half hour, the investigation of a crime and apprehension of a suspect by New York City police detectives is shown, followed by the prosecution of the defendant by the Manhattan District Attorney‘s office in the second half. Plots are often based on real cases that recently made headlines.

My favorite Characters:  Chris Noth(Mike Logan), Steven Hill(District Attorney Adam Schiff), Carolyn McCormick (Dr Elizabeth Olivet), Jerry Orbach, (Detective Lennie Briscoe) , Jill Hennessy (Claire Kincaid)

The longevity and success of Law & Order has spawned a number of series and a television film that all use the name Law & Order. (SVU, Criminal Intent, and LA) Although there were fears initially that the failure of such shows could hurt the original series, it was felt the brand name was needed because of the commercial desirability such a brand name creates. To differentiate it from other series in the franchise, Law & Order is often referred to as “The Mother Ship” by producers and critics.

On May 14, 2010, NBC officially canceled the show, opting instead to pick-up Law & Order: Los Angeles for a first season, and renewed Law & Order: Special Victims Unit for a twelfth. The cancellation was announced after last-minute talks between NBC and Dick Wolf to extend the series failed to lead to an agreement.

For now I’ll get my fill of Law and Order through Law and Order SVU, another great show running a close second on my list.  I do hope they will incorporate some of my favorite stars from the original into SVU every once in a while.  Are you listening Dick Wolf?  That’s what I want!

Thank you Wikipedia, for giving me the facts!.

Leave a Reply

