What I really want for Mother’s Day. It’s not flowers

According to the National Retail Foundation, spending on Mother’s Day flowers alone this year could hit $1.9 billion. That’s a lot of money spent on something that will die in a week, or in my case most likely a day.  I like flowers don’t get me wrong and I don’t want to sound ungrateful but I’d like to skip the flowers this year.

So what do I want (besides the handmade gifts the kids make at school, they always are my favorite)  Why not Me-time Saturday night and Sunday — as in, a hotel room. My very own hotel room. Doesn’t have to be an expensive one, although it sure would be nice to order room service, while sitting in my robe — in complete silence.  Maybe even gasp…read a book!  Without being interrupted.  Wow!  I am to be contacted only in extreme emergencies, (not the, we can’t find any of  Nina’s sippy cups variety-hmmm where could they be?  Did anyone check in the cupboard?) If a hotel is too expensive, how about taking off with the kids and leaving me in the quiet, quiet house?

This is what I secretly dream of every Mothers Day.  Why secretly?  Well I just can’t bring myself to tell my husband and or kids that my ideal Mothers Day would be hiding from them for an entire day.  Guilt immediately sinks in, even as I write this post.  (Darn Catholic school)  Most likely they will get me flowers and make me breakfast in bed,  I will end up smiling and acting like the black toast is the best toast I ever ate.  I will get stuck cleaning up the aftermath of the breakfast in bed.  I will find the vase, wash it and try to keep the roses alive.

I am lucky to have my beautiful three children who get true delight out of “surprising” me with breakfast in bed, and beautiful flowers, and a husband who thinks he is the most thoughtful gift giver.  (Don’t worry, I really don’t think he reads this lol)  So I continue to day dream of the perfect mothers day alone.  Maybe one day I will get the guts to tell them how I feel.  Or maybe someone will anonymously send him a copy 😉 😉


Leave a Reply

